Exit site

Restored

Exit site

Concerned about an abuser finding out that you have visited this website? You can cover your tracks. Here’s how to do it…


Internet Explorer:

Click on the Tools menu and select Internet Options. On the General page, under Temporary Internet Files, click on Delete Cookies and then OK. Click on Delete Files, put a tick in the box labeled Delete all offline content and click OK. Under History, click on Clear History and then OK. Now look at the top of the window and click on the Content tab, select AutoComplete and finally, Clear Forms.


Firefox/Netscape:

Click on Tools and then Options, then click on Privacy. Click on the Clear button next to Cache and Saved Form Information.


Opera:

Click on Tools and then Preferences. Click on the Advanced tab and then the History section on the left hand side. Click the two Clear buttons and the Empty Now button.


Deleting your browsing history:

Internet browsers also keep a record of all the web pages you visit. This is known as a 'history'. To delete history for Internet Explorer and Netscape/Firefox hold down the Ctrl key on the keyboard, then press the H key (Crtl, Alt and H for Opera). Find any entries that start with www.restoredrelationships, right click and choose Delete.


Email:

Make sure you change your password regularly. If your abuser knows your password, and would query why you have changed it, then ensure that you delete any emails sent before exiting your email system ( e.g. Microsft Outlook, Hotmail etc. ) Go into your deleted items and empty the deleted box before you exit the email system or just the individual email if emptying all the deleted items would arouse suspicion too. This will ensure the email is removed completely from the system.

If the abuser sends you abusive emails that you want to delete and can’t store safely online as evidence, before deleting them, consider printing off a copy that can be stored in a safe place.

Draft emails

If you have started writing an email, and need to exit your emails, ensure that you delete the email in drafts before you exit. Go into your drafts folder, right click, delete. If you exit your email system quickly, without the auto delete, deleted items, function switched on, the emails can stay in your system.

If you are concerned someone may see items you have either drafted or sent or deleted then please ensure that you have deleted them before exiting your email.

Emails general

If you are concerned that someone has access to and is reading your emails, you may consider setting up a new email account. This can be done online via hotmail or Google. It is worth considering a generic name that doesn’t link back to you directly and is fairly innocuous. Women’s Aid website uses bakedbeans@hotmail.co.uk as an example.

Change your password

If it’s safe to do so, without raising suspicion of your abuser, consider changing the password to your email system and PC. We recognize that this may not always be possible depending on your circumstances.


Toolbars:

Toolbars such as Google, AOL and Yahoo keep a record of the search words you have typed into the toolbar search box. In order to erase all the search words you have typed in, you will need to check the individual instructions for each type of toolbar. For example, for the Google toolbar all you need to do is click on the Google icon, and choose "Clear Search History".